This is an archived static version of the original discussion site.

Call for papers: RECOMB-Comparative Genomics


SCOPE The annual RECOMB Comparative Genomics Satellite Conference (RECOMB-CG) brings together leading researchers in the mathematical, computational and life sciences to discuss cutting edge research in comparative genomics, with an emphasis on computational approaches and the analysis of novel experimental results. The program will include keynote talks, contributed talks, and a poster session.

The 14th RECOMB-CG conference will be held in Montréal, Canada, October 11-14 2016. With this Call for Papers we invite high-quality original full papers on topics related to the conference theme. The conference will also have a poster session. A detailed call for posters will be published later on the conference web page.

TOPICS Papers are solicited on, but not limited to, the following topics:

  • genome evolution
  • genome rearrangements
  • genome variation, diversity and dynamics
  • phylogenomics
  • comparative tools for genome assembly
  • population genomics
  • comparison of functional networks
  • comparative epigenomics
  • paleogenomics
  • cancer evolution genomics
  • epidemiology
  • gene identification and/or annotation

IMPORTANT DATES Paper Submission Deadline: June 6, 2016 Author Notification: July 8, 2016 Final Version Due: July 22, 2016 Conference: October 11-14, 2016

DETAILS ON SUBMITTING MANUSCRIPTS Submitted papers must have not been published or be currently under consideration for publication in any other journal or conference with formal proceedings. All accepted papers will have to be presented by one of the authors at the conference.

Accepted papers will be published in one of three journals:

  • a special issue of BMC Genomics, edited by a RECOMB-CG PC chair,
  • a special issue of BMC Bioinformatics, edited by a RECOMB-CG PC chair,
  • a special section of a regular issue of Bioinformatics (Oxford University Press), edited by a RECOMB-CG PC chair and a Bioinformatics Associate Editor.

As BMC Genomics and BMC Bioinformatics are Open Access journals, there will be an author fee of £922 (922 Pounds Sterling) for publication in the event that an article is accepted in one of these two journals.

Papers accepted for presentation at the conference and considered for publication in Bioinformatics will be subject to an extra round of reviewing to ensure they meet the usual standards of the journal. Papers appearing in Bioinformatics will be subject to the regular fees of Bioinformatics for extra pages and colour figures for example.

Authors will need to indicate upon submission their preferred publication option (BMC Genomics, BMC Bioinformatics, Bioinformatics). This preference should be stated in the Abstract section of the Easychair submission page. However, the final decision about the journal for each paper will be taken by the RECOMB-CG PC chairs and communicated to the authors upon acceptance.

Papers must be submitted in PDF format according to the guidelines for authors of the respective journal:

Papers submitted in BMC format must be within 10 pages, while papers submitted in Bioinformatics format must be limited to 7 pages. In both cases a clearly marked appendix can be added to the submission that contains supplementary material made available to the reviewers.

All submissions must be made online, through the EasyChair submission system, at the following address:

Authors need to register on that web site before submitting. A standard PDF file must be received by midnight on June 6, 2016 (any time zone) in order for a submission to be considered. Re-submission of already submitted papers will be possible until midnight June 8, 2016 (any time zone).

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS Guillaume Bourque (McGill University and Genome Quebec) Josée Dostie (McGill University) Edward Marcotte (University of Texas at Austin) Rebekah Rogers (University of California at Berkeley) Sohrab Shah (University of British Columbia and BC Cancer Agency)

PROGRAM COMMITTEE Max Alekseyev (George Washington University) Lars Arvestad (Stockholm University) Anne Bergeron (UQAM) Marilia Braga (Bielefeld University) Cedric Chauve (Simon Fraser University, co-chair) Leonid Chindelevitch (Simon Fraser University) Miklós Csűrös (University of Montréal) Ingo Ebersberger (Goethe University Frankfurt) Nadia El-Mabrouk (University of Montréal, co-chair) Guillaume Fertin (University of Nantes) Katharina Jahn (ETH Zurich) Asif Javed (Genome Institute of Singapore) Ketil Malde (Institute of Marine Research, Norway) István Miklós (Rényi Institute, Hungarian Academy of Sciences) Bernard Moret (EPFL) Aïda Ouangraoua (University of Sherbrooke) Teresa Przytycka (NCBI) Marie-France Sagot (INRIA, LBBE, Lyon) Michael Sammeth (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro) Jens Stoye (Bielefeld University) Krister Swenson (CNRS, University of Montpellier) Eric Tannier (INRIA, LBBE, Lyon) Glenn Tesler (UCSD) Tamir Tuller (Tel Aviv University) Lusheng Wang (City University of Hong Kong) Tandy Warnow (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) Louxin Zhang (National University of Singapore) Jie Zheng (Nanyang Technological University) Chunfang Zheng (University of Ottawa)